27 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 7:26 AM by Jeff Hamilton

How often do you restart your computer

Jeff Hamilton

I know that a normal pc is designed to run for long periods of time without needing to be shut down or restarted. I also know that CAD programs, Solidworks in particular tend to build up and retain memory, and that memory has to be released every so often in order to maintain performance. For years, I have been in the  habit of turning my machine off every night and restarting it the next morning. I also try to keep it clean of junk. This has served me well.

However we have some new IT (not CAD) guys telling us not to shut down the machines unless absolutely necessary. They also have them set up to do full scans every time they are started up and doing checks every five minutes. This slows things down tremendously, especially at startup. I am an admin, but can't turn it off. I might be able to get this changed. What do you guys recommend from a CAD standpoint? A CAD machine is a different animal...

• Re: How often do you restart your computer
          Scott McFadden

Hi Jeff,

I restart my PC minimum once a day.  Sometimes twice depending on the usage and

at times forced.  Where I used to work it was suggested twice.  shutting down at the end of the night

and fresh start in the morning then restarting it at lunch time for the afternoon grind.

Stuart Moore

Leaving computers running is a hangover from the past when electronics were less reliable.  The argument was that if a component was going to fail, it would do so at switch on.  In my view it is absolutely pointless to leave a PC running overnight.  It wastes power and is completely unnecessary.

As far as SolidWorks is concerned, a fresh boot at the start of the day has to be preferred.

Glenn Schroeder