19 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 2:25 PM by Brent Zartman

Smooth Box

Brent Zartman

I am fairly new with SolidWorks, but found myself in a situation where I am trying to create a smooth sided rectangular box with C2 curvature everywhere. All the faces are domed, so there are no flat edges, and the edges blend faces smoothly. The concept is very similar to the surfacing challenge: Puffy Box found at http://www.dezignstuff.com/blog/?p=1490 except that all the edges smoothly blend each face. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

• Re: Smooth Box
          Jeff Mowry

Can you create a block and then apply fillets (using the curvature-continuous option, instead of tangent option)?  If not, is it really a box, or is it some other form of oblong shape?  (In other words, are there any planar surfaces remaining at all or not?)

Andrey Dankevich

Hi Brent,

You should try to import box tsm models from enclosed archive,

but in order to do this you need to install tsElements for Solidworks add-in (http://www.tsplines.com/products/solidworks.html). There's 10-day free trial.

Then do some push-pull manipulation to get the shape you need.

I think the archive I've attached is also included in the add-in download.

Hope this will help you.

Best regards,

Andrey

Charles Culp

Brent,

I've been fairly busy recently, but I finally got a chance to take a stab at this. My model seems to be pretty clean. I used the fillet tool to create curvature continuous face fillets. Then I trimmed the corners and used fill. I had to then pattern to add it to all faces. Is this what you were looking for?

CurvBox1.png

CurvBox2.png

CurvBox3.png

Robert Stupplebeen

Charles,

Since I do not have 2011 can you post an image of your feature tree?  Thanks.

Rob Stupplebeen

PuffyCube2-RStupplebeen.jpg

Charles Culp

Rob,