9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2016 6:38 PM by John Dixon

Phantom contact sets?

James Denney

I have a contact set that is defined as beam joints bonded to a flat plate. Whenever I run my analysis, the beams are displacing, so I'm guessing they aren't truly bonded. Odd thing is I had this exact same contact set defined in a previous iteration of this model, and it worked fine. I do get a cryptic message "beam joint cannot be projected onto surface"...I'm guessing they are related? Anyone encountered something similar before?

• Re: Phantom contact sets?
          John Dixon

I have the same problem.  Did you get this figured out?

Seckin Uslu

Could you please share some pictures about study.

Did you try increase the mesh size?

John Dixon

Image is below

Increase in mesh fines resulted in error.

I have used a alternative method for the simulation, due to the many hours of time spent attempting to alleviate the issue.  I am not experienced enough with Solidworks to set up contact sets that will work consistently at this time.

Originally, I attempted to mesh "structural components" with "Extruded boss/base."  The "structural components" consisted of angles and channels that were created using the Insert--->weldment--->structural member tool.  I was able to get it to mesh by creating contact sets manually.  However, a successful mesh could only be obtained with the mesh adjustment bar (i.e.coarse to fineness) positioned mid-way.  As a work-around, I modeled all of the structural components as "solids" - see image below.  Additionally, I am using mesh control to help minimize the mesh fineness where not needed.  Although the simulation takes a little longer to run, it is working well and has produces deformations that I had expected.

Bill McEachern

this stuff is all trivially easy to get done if you understand how the program works: