4 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2011 7:05 PM by Erik Bilello

How to view dimensions in imported stp or ProE file?

Annette Jennings

I am helping my engineer work with a customer on a quote and they have sent stp and ProE files. I have tried various options for importing, but I don't see any dimensions and can't view anything in the feature tree other than the "imported" solid body. (We've also gone back to the customer and asked for a drawing with dimensions and they then sent a Parasolid file, but when I open it in SW, it is completely blank - nothing is there)

I'm working on four separate part files, and am importing these into SW2007.

BTW I've never done this (importing) before so please be gentle. I went through the ACAD import tutorials and the help file on ProE imports already. The best I've gotten thus far is:

• using the "Make Drawing from Part/Assembly" button
      • laying out the Standard 3 View on a sheet
      • and using Smart Dimension to dimension the radius of an interior curve
      • and then using Autodimension to fill in the rest

I'm afraid the initial Smart Dimension is not trustworthy - how certain can I be that this is the right dimension? Or does SW just guestimate?

• Re: How to view dimensions in imported stp or ProE file?
          Scott McFadden

Hi Annette,

I will try and be as gentle as I can. 

First what version of Pro-E are these files coming from because there might be an incompatibility

issue.  Second since you are using 2007 I think that might be compatible with wildfire 2 or 3.

Next, what might ultimately work for you is if you can get the actual Pro-E files from this customer

you can call them up directly into Solidworks.  I think 2007 was the first version that did this susccessfully.

Annette Jennings