16 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 2:24 PM by Rich Jones

Unable to get the right displacement......

Avishek Kar

I have been trying to perform an static analysis on a manhole cover in SolidWorks Simulation but unable to get the desired displacemnt. The desired value is below 1.5mm but after repetitive attempts the best value I got is 1.7mm. Its an iges file, which I have converted to SolidWorks part, using the import diagonistic and feature recongnization tools.

The parameters are as such

Material Used- Ductile Iron.

The bottom face of the cover is fixed.

Force = 14300N on the top face of the cover is concentrated in the circumference of a circle of 250mm dia at the centre.

As, I am new to Simulation, there can be some errors. Kindly guide me on this issue. I have attached the files for further reference.

Thanks & regards

Avishek

• Re: Unable to get the right displacement......
          Timothy Holman

Hello,

I tried to view your files but when i opened both of them they were empty.  Nothing on the iges and the parts were not with the assembly.

James Canney

Avishek,

Some questions.

- Why do you think that the deflection should be 1.5mm, your cover is B125 rated so your load should be 125000N on the test block, unless you are allowing for an additional FOS outside of EN124.

- Are you trying to look at the test load or the permanent set of the cover? Depending on which you are looking at then the important things to look out for are the FOS against the Yield strength of the material in the case of permanent set, or the FOS against the Ultimate strength if looking at the full test load.

- Your cover may deflect more than the standard allows during the test, but the recovery of the cover is important once the test load is released, this is why you should look at the FOS against the Yield strength, along with your deflection results.