2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2011 4:16 PM by Jeremy Feist

SolidWorks Simulation for Assembly Jack Stand

Aaron Ferguson

I have been using SolidWorks now for almost 6 months and recently started focusing more on the Simulation aspect. My background is in Mechanical Engineering/FEA Analysis and most of my training so far has been with Alignex and online courses, tutorials, and reading books. Recently I got a project from a client, mostly as a training tool for my company, where I have to do a test on a jack stand. This jack stand will be used to support a mining vehicle of some sort. I have attached a picture of my assembly model.

Basically, it consists of a rectangular base plate, a larger rectangle attached on top of the base plate with an X pattern inside for support, two structural tubes ASTM A500 Grade B about halfway up for support and a fork lift to move the jack stand, and a cradle top curved with a 63" radius where an 85 ton load will be applied.

This will all be welded together with ASTM A36 Steel, which is to be determined on weld size. It will be resting on concrete or a gravel floor, which might not always be even like the 85 ton load. What we want to determine is if the structure will be able to support the 85 ton loaded on the cradle top both as a distributed load and if say the vehicle was putting all that weight on one edge of the jack stand. Also, what happens if the floor is uneven?

I guess my main concern, is just how to run a test correctly and where to even begin? Other things I have questions on is:

Since this an assembly, will there be concerns with meshing?

How do the welds affect the test? Should they be used such as an edge weld connector?

With this being symmetric, could I just model ¼ of assembly and make it one part to simplify the test. Would that be an accurate enough?

If I do it a ¼ model using two different types of materials (structural steel and the tubing), can that be modeled in just one part?