13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2019 4:41 PM by Peter Loring

Has anyone used Cideon PDM for SAP?

Peter Loring

Our company is implementing Cideon SAP-PLM integration software.  Has anyone had any experiance with this PDM tool?

• Re: Has anyone used Cideon PDM for SAP?
          Anil Kakad

I am a consultant starting a project to integrate SAP to SolidWorks. Currently SW is used with the Enterprise Vault and not connected to SAP.

Planning to use SAP CAD Desktop application and Cideon middleware. Can you share your SAP/SW connectivty experience.....issues, advantages, pain points, etc. Thanks

Peter Loring

Anil,

We eventually got Cideon/CAD Desktop to work.  It is not an eligant solution compared to other systems.  Our users are unhappy with it and constantly compare it's lack of useability to the system they have moved away from.  The other system (PLM++ or ECTR, by DSC) intigrated UG to SAP.

Is this company commited to this solution or are they still in the investigation stage?  I would be happy to discuss our experiance in greater detail.

Peter

Anil Kakad

Peter, thanks for your response. I am very interested in discussing your experience. The client is installing SAP DMS content servers to hold the large number of SolidWorks and ProE documents. As there are remote sites - both in the US and Europe, Cache servers are also being installed at the remote sites to improve performance.

In their current non-SAP SW system, they are using Enterpsise Vault for storing SW and related files. In the to-be system the SAP DMS system will becom the vault. Question that has come up is in the interim period when all the files have not been converted from 'legacy' to SAP 'Vault', can the 2 vaults co-exist? Is there any software out there that might enable the 2 vaults to be synchronized? In other words can they go-live with the SW-SAP system prior to all the SW documents 'converted over' to SAP?

Any experience related to your SW-SAP integration is most welcome.