14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2011 9:56 AM by Joe Galliera

Wing lift off by a lot

Brian McVeigh

Hi!

This is my first time using Flow Simulation - I'm trying to find the lift generated by a wing.  Using a lift calculation, it should theoretically be around 62N, however using flow simulation its found to be just 8.4N. Any idea what could be causing this?  I have set the speed to the same used in the calculation, and attached an image of my set up (also set to external and exlude internal cavities).

Also, it took over an hour to compute on quard core i5 with 4gb ram...does that sound right?  I'm currently running another and it's saying it'll take 5 hours, tutorials seem to suggest it should just a few minutes.

Thanks for any help, pulling my hair out here.

Cheers,

Brian

• Re: Wing lift off by a lot
          Bill McEachern

If you aren't going near sonic I would say your domain is much to small for one thing. Use the default and then bring the symmetry plane in - leave te rest alone.

You typically don't need all that fine mesh to get a good lift number - drag is another story.

How sure are you on the "known" number? Was it calculated, if so how?

Brian McVeigh

Hi Bill!

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it!  I will re-run it with the default domain just now.  The number was calculated ising a pretty simple lifting force calculation: L = \tfrac12\rho v^2 A C_L

I also used NASA's FoilSim which combines theory and collected experimental data and got in the same ballpark as the theory, but still miles off from the CFD.

Thanks

Bill McEachern

I should have been more clear on the calculation question. Was it a calc based on just 2D or was it corrected for 3D -ie spanwise effects? Regardless, it should be in the same ball park.......sp look to the basics...is the densites used the same? How is your goal set up to compute the lift? Check all that stuff. They should line up. Angle of attack?

Brian McVeigh