6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2011 2:29 AM by Marto J

Help needed with irregularities in surface

Marto J

Hi All,

I am pretty new to SolidWorks and I am trying to draw an oil sump pan. I used a lofted surface to draw the rear pan section of the sump and then thickened it.

The problem is that the surface has 2 "creases" in it and I can't figure out how to resolve this. I have tried altering the guidelines for the sketch a lot but perhaps I need to muck around with it even more. Alternatively, I may be using the wrong process altogether to draw this section, I'm really not sure.

I have attached a few photos for reference.

Thanks in advance for any help.

• Re: Help needed with irregularities in surface

Hi Marto,

Is it neccessary to create a single surface for a mechanical/non-aesthetic part?  If not, I would use a solid modeling approach with radii.

Regards

Mark

Kevin De Smet

You just need a little more topology, loft the straight edges together and then use fill surfaces for the transitions. You will find it does a better job at capturing shapes than one surface which just gets dented and distorted, it's just what happens and that's true for any software.

Jeff Mowry

One thing that might help out is splitting this into more features--don't try to form all the geometry with a single loft.  Start with the simpler areas that are more likely to succeed, and then move to the corners and other problem areas after the primary areas have been built.  (You might have to knit your surfaces together as you go to use features like Surface Fills in the corners.)  Split it into regions, and it should work well for you.

Erik Bilello

Marto,