Only the user who created or modified the file can check it in. Admin can only undo a check out which will rollback to the last existing file in the archive. If the file was never checked in then it won’t even exist in the archive. In that case, all that exists is the record in the database.
I don't think you can do a check in, but what I figured out is that you can undo a persons checkout as admin and that file will show as checked in. You can only do this on a files were just place into EPDM or just created. Of course if that user puts the file into EPDM and then makes some more changes to the file and you as admin do a undo checkout, EPDM will not save any of their changes. At least it's in EPDM for someone else to check out and work on. We are still on 2008 so can't say for other version. Just have someone drop in a new file from another pc and try it.
Same goes for your #2 question. You can do an undo checkout and it will not save any the changes from the person that has it checked out.
Also I think if you physically go over to their pc and log on as admin, you should be able to check their files in.
Have this problem when: 1) after pc crash, 2) files checked out after employee leaves company or is on holliday
To be able to do a "check in" or a "undo check out" you have to use the built in admin user in PDM enterprise. No other user or group have sufficient rights to this.
1. You can perform the check-in as Admin on the computer where the checked out files actually are regardless of what user checked them out. However as Admin you will be given a dialogue box for each file, with no option to to say 'Yes to All'. This is tedious. Its far easier to just reset the users password and check-in as that user.
2. If the computer where the files were checked out is gone, then so are the files. If the OS is just destroyed but you can access the files somehow, then there are work arounds.
In our set up, and possibly generically in PDM STANDARD (unless there is a setting I've not seen) you cannot check in files if owned by someone else as admin user; we had a problem where we had a system crash whilst files were checked out. Once we resolved the system error (by turning off antivirus firewall incidentally), even though I was "me" logged in on the same PC, PDM thought they were checked out by "someone else"..
Only the following workflow worked:
- Log in as admin; "undo checkout" on affected files.
- Logout and back in as user, check out those files,
- Copy files from backup if you are lucky enough to have them (check your autobackup file location) to the vault (overwrite)
- Check them back in
- Leave for the day as you are probably fried and in need of a stiff drink.
This way file history should be retained.
Item #1 has been answered. But I have had item #2 happen a few times where the computer is missing in action. I have tried it both ways to the following. Yes, I rolled back the file. This works but you lose the work done. The other way I tried was to delete the file and then restore it. Sometime a minimum of work is lost. Try it by check out something and making changes. Then go to another computer as an admin and delete it, then restore it.