18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2011 3:24 AM by Neil Larsen

T-Splines tsElement webinar today

At 12 noon EST  register at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/r...

Mark

• Rhino+T-Splines vs Modo
          Charles Culp

Mark, and others.

I am looking into this software again. It looks like there are a couple workflows we could use.

Modo>.obj file>tsElements

Rhino>.obj file>tsElements

Rhino+tSplines>.tsm file>tsElements

As of right now, are there any benefits to Rhino+tSplines method?

I have never used Modo, although I have briefly used Rhino, and I have extensive experience 10 years ago with 3D Studio. Does Modo's modeling tools compare with Rhino? Obviously, they have some pretty nice rendering tools which I would love to play with, but are not exactly going to benefit my company's bottom line.

I think I have some more questions that I might ask on the tSplines forum, but I'm really interested in a comparison of Modo to Rhino+tSplines, or even Modo to Rhino.

• Re: Rhino+T-Splines vs Modo
              Kevin Quigley

Charles we recently purchased both Modo and TSElements for SolidWorks. In tandem with this we are continuing to evaluate Rhino+TSplines. The initial workflow I persuaded myself we needed was Modo to SolidWorks via TSElements. This does work well for some shapes - it is especially useful for the more organic forms and getting those transitions you really struggle with using a NURBS modeller alone.

As you mention Modo works very well with SolidWorks (and to be honest this was the main reason we opted for that route to start with). Modo's rendering and animation system is ideal for hard surfaces typical of product design.