2 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2012 10:28 PM by Shahrul 88

How does Flow Simulation judge convergence?

Dan Cook

I'm new at Flow Simulation and am trying to get my head wrapped around some of the terminology. I'm used to CFD codes such as Fluent, StarCD or Fidap where the codes base convergence on changes in the residuals of the equations being solved. When these residuals fall below some set value for all the variables of interest, the calculation is deemed "done" and everyone cries "Hallelujah" and drinks a beer.

Since FS is based on the finite volume method, I would expect that buried deep inside the code, there is a routine that is doing something similar. Could someone explain to me how what I'm used to fits in with the method used in FS? I've looked at both the technical reference and the solving engineering problems pdfs.

Thanks in advance,

dan

• Re: How does Flow Simulation judge convergence?
          Bill McEachern