2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2011 1:37 AM by Mark Lawrence

Limits of Solidworks

Mark Lawrence

Hello there!

I am a student currently, and i've noticed that in our science library there is a test period licence for Solidworks for about 150 days. I had in mind to simulate a home made schnapps destillery.

I'm certain that all the solid body mechanics can be designed and simulated (the caldron and the condensation pipes), but can i simulate the evaporation of certain fluids?

Is it possible to simulate a fluid (which would have evaporation characteristics as ethanol and methanol) and then see how different alcohols evaporate according to the temperature in the caldron?

Thanks

• Re: Limits of Solidworks
          Raghavendra Bhagavan.S.M

Hello Mark !

Welcome to SW Forums,

You cannot simulate evaporation of  fluids with SolidWorks Flow Simulation.

• Analyze the flow of up to ten fluids of different types (liquids,  gases/steam, real gases, non-Newtonian liquids and compressible liquids). The  database contains numerous fluids with predefined properties.

• Analyze a problem with multiple fluids of different types, provided you  separate the areas of the different fluids from each other using fluid  subdomains.

• Analyze mutual dissolution of fluids. Mixing fluids must be of the same  type.

•  

Define your own fluids.

You can also set various boundary conditions :

For inlet and outlet:

• Mass volume

• Volume flow

• Velocity

• Mach number

• Static pressure

• Total pressure

• Environment pressure

• Wall pressure

For inlet only:

• Flow velocity profile, swirl, or vector

• Temperature

• Composition (for assemblies)

• Turbulence parameters

Flow Simulation includes these features to view the results:

Plots

3D-profile plots

Cut Plots

Surface Plots

XY Plots

Animations

Flow Trajectories

Goals

Iso surfaces

Particle studies

Reports

Point, surface, and volume parameters