3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2018 9:58 AM by Mason Benzinger

Automate force rebuild on transition

aaron schiel

I am trying to automate a force rebuild on a transition.  The reason is that I am trying to update a drawing with who it was approved by and date, so this information is not always present.  But when I change a state, the info is updated on the drawing card and custom properties through Set Variable.  If you look at the preview after the transition, the updated info is not present however.  But it shows up if you open the solidworks drawing and save it because the custom properties are there.  But I need this to be automated.  Is there anyway to do this during a state trasition.  I have tried through creating a task and a dispatch action but have been unsucessful.  I think I need to be able to check the file out, rebuild it, save it and check the file back in.  So doing this through a task script seem like the most logical way to do this.  But I am new to the language, so I don't know what the script should look like.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Re: Automate force rebuild on transition
          Pedro Branco

Hi,

What version of EPDM are you using?

as from eDrawings 2008 it was added support for showing  updates in title block annotations linked to drawing custom properties  ($PRP links, linked to Drawing File Properties) without having to open and resave the drawing in  SolidWorks. This means that if a drawing custom property is linked to a  variable in the drawing data card, an update to that variable (for  example when a workflow transition changes state on a file and writes  the revision number to the card), the updated value should be visible in  eDrawings preview instantly.