11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2010 6:18 PM by Bill McEachern

Wind pressure analysis on roof

Legt Chevrollier

Hi. I am an architect, and in last few months, am having a great difficulties at my project in calculating the stress from wind on my roof.

I heard that Solid works can do this with a great accuracy.

So are there any tutorials about this?

My roof is pretty unstandard - two curved surface.

I must admit I know nothing about Computational Fluid Dynamics/

Thank you for all the answers.

• Re: Wind pressure analysis on roof
          Derek Bishop

In Australia this kind of analysis is normally undertaken by structural engineers. Have you spoke to any structural engineers on the matter. They would normally design to the required statutory regulations ie. codes. If the codes don't cover the shaped roof in question CFD may be useful but would probably need to be validated using physical testwork or whatever else the engineer or code determines is necessary.

There may be engineers on this site who can use CFD to determine the pressure distributions on the roof resulting from the wind.

SolidWorks is primarily a package developed for the design of mechanical plant and equipment and is often not efficient when used for doing architectural/structural work.

Legt Chevrollier

thank you for reply.

The problem is that I do not own any other CFD software (like  Ansys CFD maybe?) nor I will do in the next couple of months, because  simply I do not have a money to buy it. So I will have to do it with  Solid works.

I am a little bit of a structural engineer myself, so I do this kind of stuff. The problem is that the roof is so unstandard - curved, that there is no other way to calculate a wind impact, then to make an simplifiction. But even in this case it is difficult to establish the right sipmplified shape. That's why I need Solid Works

I hope some of those engineers you mentioned will give me some kind of help.