15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2013 11:33 AM by Jared Conway

Analyzing tube frame in SimulationXpress

Adam Johnson

I'm fairly new to using SimulationXpress so I need some help. I want to analyze the tube frame shown in the picture. The loads will be applied to the top tube and the lower tubes will be sitting on the ground. How do I model this part so that it will allow the lower tubes to spread apart creating tension in the lower members? I am running Solidworks 2010 profesional with SimulationXpress. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

• Re: Analyzing tube frame in SimulationXpress
          Ryan Werner

Hi Adam,

You can create a Split Line on the bottom faces of the bottom tubes to restrain to.  Then only restrain it in the vertical direction and that should allow them to separate.  Hopefully it will run with just that restraint but the model may "move" since there would be no restraint keeping it from doing so.  If that happens you may have to decide on a way to restrain it in the other directions as well.  You can do something similar on the top tube to apply your loading to if you want.

Ryan W.

Derek Bishop

Does Simulation Express allow you to define constraints using reference geometry? If not, I think you will be struggling.

Jan Van Leeuwen