6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2010 1:16 AM by 1-FKI4X8

Test specifications for dynamic analysis

Hi all,

I am pretty new to dynamic analysis, eventhough i have been using SWX simulation for quite some time now. Pls help me understand these specifications and the procedure that needs to be followed in SolidWorks simulation

Vibration Resistance:

The equipment should be capable of trouble free operations under the influence of propeller vibrations at the frequencies up to 5 Hz with an amplitude of 1.0 mm and the frequencies 20 to 30 Hz with an acceleration of 1 G.

freqency 5-33 Hz, +/- 0.16 mm constant displacement Duration, 2 Hrs

Vibration Proof (at 1.0 g):

Frequency 5-10 Hz, +/- 1.0 mm

Frequency 10-20 Hz, +/- 0.63 mm

Frequency 20-25 Hz, +/- 0.40 mm

Frequency 25-30 Hz, +/- 0.28 mm

Frequency 30-33 Hz, +/- 0.23 mm

Sweep rate 1 octave/minute tested for 3 axes. Duration 15 minutes/axis.

pls let me know the procedure to be followed to carry out this analysis.thanks

• Re: Test specifications for dynamic analysis
          Joe Grant

This is a complex subject but I'll help where I can. From a SW perspective you should obviously have your parts modeled and then execute a Linear Dynamic Study. Constrain or "Fix" your model and then apply External Loads "Base Excitation". Select displacement and put in 1mm. Then select "variation with frequency" and the curve option. Input your curve data from the specification (ie) displacement versus frequency. Run your analysis. You will need to do this a total of three times to account for the x, y, and z axis. 

All this is done after you have already run a modal analysis to determine the structures natural frequencies.