14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2010 10:23 AM by Ryan Werner

Problem with beam to solid body analysis

Philip Lewis

I am pretty new to simulation and need some help. I have what I think is a pretty simple weldment base. All one level with just 2 plates.What keeps happening is when I run the study the plates (where the load is being applied) keep going through the beams and I get huge numbers on the stress values. I have the bottom face of the plate bonded to the beams that they are touching and I am using the outer most nodes as the fixtures as a worst case. I have tried using a mid-surface and bonding to it but the results are similar. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a better way to do this?

• Re: Problem with beam to solid body analysis
          Devi Prasad Samal

Hi Phillip,

Whatever u write from that i guess u dont have done anything wrong. but still from your result scenario it seems that some contacts have not been proper.

just some question which arises: how u define bond between the beam and shell elements. which version of solidworks u are using?

and can u post the files with simulation so that we can check it out?

Regards

Devi Prasad Samal

Philip Lewis

Hi Devi

I have attached the 2 studies I have run. Study 1 has the extruded plate bonded to the beam elements it is in contact with. Study 2 has the surface bonded to the beam in the same manner. I'm using SW2010 SP3.0.

If you or anybody could shed some light on what's going on it would be greatly appreciated.

Devi Prasad Samal

hey phillip u have not uploaded the assembly file..

with out solidworks file it is difficult to find out something with only simulation result files.

Philip Lewis

Sorry about that. I thought I had the base weldment in the zip file. I have updated the zip file to include the weldment part file.

Devi Prasad Samal

sorry phillip,