3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2010 6:39 AM by Devi Prasad Samal

Simulation of pressure vessel with variable wall thickness

Have ran a simulation of a thin walled pressure vessel using shell elements.

The model had uniform wall thickness and was OK

I have now drawn a thin walled pressure vessel with a varying wall thickness.

It is actually a model of a coke can the bottom is 0.3mm sidewall 0.1mm and

where it tapers in at the top 0.16mm.

With my previous study I created a surface offset mid plane then applied shell elements.

Is this possible with a variable wall thickness?

• Re: Simulation of pressure vessel with variable wall thickness
          Devi Prasad Samal

Hi clive,

i am not a simulation expert. but i can say that u can use shell mesh using mid-surface for multi thickness also.

first create mid surface by going to insert-surface-midsurface and create different surface which have different thk u want to assign. then the surfaces are avaialable in simulation tree. edit them add the proper thickness.

and run the required simulation.

regards

devi samal

Thanks for your help I was able to use mid surface and now have my 3 different thickness pressure vessel

I had a problem with my original drawing I had sketched the profile of the can then sketched the pressure

vessels varying wall thickness using offsets etc, then rotated about the centre line.

when trying to use the mid surface command there was a problem that it could not find matched pairs (faces)

The way I have got round it was to rotate the sketch of the outside of the vessel to produce a solid then used

the variable shell command to shell out the solid giving me the required 3 thickness

I was able then to use mid surface as you advised.

I have split the vessel in two along the longitudinal axis and am looking into symmetry restraints

any advise on setting up the simulation study would be appreciated as I am just starting out with

using the package.

thanks again Clive