7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2010 10:05 AM by 1-IO6KWW

Contact Help

I am trying to do a simulation of two face gears meshing together to create a fixture when bolted together. There are 72 teeth,  allowing 5 degree increments when unbolted. I'm trying to figure out how to create a contact between the gear teeth to see if they will be strong enough. I'm fairly new to SolidWorks Simulation. I've tried automatically finding contact sets, but it doesn't seem to find anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Peter

• Re: Contact Help
          Roland Schwarz

Try creating contact sets between specific sets of faces using the "No penetration" option.

Devi Prasad Samal

Hi peter,

may be the automatic find contact sets option does not work because at the starting of simulation the faces are not connected with each other. some times during applying forces some faces comes in contact with each other. hence at that condition we have to manually put no penetration contact between the selected faces.

So try to add contacts manually between the faces which u are sure about that they will be come in contact during the force application.

Hope this helps.

Regards

Devi Prasad Samal

Kevin De Smet

This also seems like a situation where you could employ symmetry to make the simulation go faster and avoid the tedium of making 72 contact sets manually.

Not sure though since gear interactions seem like kind of complex phenomena.

Ryan Werner

I am not sure what you mean by face gear.  How are you applying your forces and restraints?