26 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2010 3:40 PM by Bill McEachern

Mixed meshes -- beams and shells

Jim Andrews

As I stated on another recent thread, I've been performing FEA with COSMOS/M for almost 20 years, and ABAQUS for a half decade prior to that.  I'm comfortable with COSMOS.  SolidWorks & Simulation?  Not so much.

So now that I've gotten just a little bit proficient at designing a weldment and analyzing it with beam elements, I need to take the next step.  I need to include shells.  Imagine a 3D weldment with thin gussets and skins -- what's the most appropriate way to model this in SolidWorks, and then how do I generate a mixed mesh of beam and shell elements to analyze it?  I want to use shells, not actual 3D (tet) elements for the thin plates.  It "feels" like the shells should be meshed from surfaces, in a planar analog to the lines one creates in a sketch that get meshed as beams.  Am I on the right track?

Any hints would be greatly appreciated, and a link to one or more tutorials would be fine.  I haven't found any that address this specific task.

Regards,

jim

• Re: Mixed meshes -- beams and shells
          Bill McEachern

General rules of the road are more or less - beams line up with structural members (or extrusions), shells with surfaces and solid elements with solid geometry. You can use surfaces off solid elements and then the solid is then not meshed as a solid. The safe bet is just put in surfaces where you want to have shell elements and get rid (suppress) all other extraneous geometry.