4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2010 1:32 PM by Wayne Tiffany

Making a SolidWorks drawing template

I am new to solidworks and I would like to make a generic drawing template.  I know that you can load a solidworks drawing template that includes the title block and border but I wanted to know how to start from scratch.  I noticed that the border in the template is made up of actual lines that can be moved and dimensioned.  Is that how a border is created, drawn on a blank sheet, or is there a way to add a border of a certain size like from a dialog or properties.  I also noticed that the title block is made up of lines as well, is that how a custom title block is created, justed sketched out.  The other question I have is shown in the attached picture of a drawing sheet.  The sheet has a alpahnumeric coordinate grid like a map (not sure what the correct name for this is) to locate things on large drawings.  Does solidworks have a way to generate this or is it just drawn with added notes for the numbers and letters.

Thank You

• Re: Making a SolidWorks drawing template
          Dwight Livingston

Yes, just sketch the whole thing. Use dimensions or snap to grid. I've had trouble with printing a bitmap logo, so I sketched that too.

Scott McFadden

Hi Derek,

This might require a few back and forths but I am willing to help you along the way.

I started at my new job about 8 months ago and prior to that I was in charge  of developing

and maintaining the formats.  I have assemed the same in this new job as well.

I would start by creating your formats using lines and text per ASME Y14.1-2005.  This is the

way I started.

Remember in drawing mode you have 2 different modes:  "Edit Sheet Format" and "Edit Sheet"

"Edit Sheet Format" contains all of your border lines, grid text, title block lines and text.  I would suggest

with each drawing created using this format that the drawing notes go on the level as well or they could