37 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2013 11:10 PM by Jared Conway

Gravity in Flow Simulation not performing?

Hi,

This is my first post, so please forgive any forum  gaffs I make.

Gravity doesn't seam to have any effect on my flow  simulations. I have run a simple test in exactly the same way, having  gravity on first and and off second, but the results are identical. And  yes, gravity is acting in the right direction.

As I am  working on a gravity powered device, it's crucial that this force be  included.

I have been using this for only 4 months, but I have  managed to use it successfully to design a carburetor which, when  prototyped in  reality was very close to the flow simulation results. However, I had to  fake gravity by working out the additional pressure myself, and adding  it to the atmospheric pressure cap on top. I did this on advice from  another flow simulation user, but I still don't understand it and I  can't fake it this time.

I've attached a screen shot of the set up. I hope someone can help.

reservoir test cross section.jpg

If i've not explained something or its a bit unclear, please do ask.

Thanks

James

• Re: Gravity in Flow Simulation not performing?
          Bill McEachern

try turning on the pressure potential switch in the initial conditions section of the general settings tab. Gravity is for density variations like bouyancy.

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the quick response and the idea on how to solve my problem.

I looked at the setting and it was already switched on,  will turning it off help? I'm running a simulation with it off, now.

Could you explain practically, what you mean by:

'Gravity is for density variations like bouyancy.'

Thanks for the help.

James

Bill McEachern