8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2010 2:06 PM by Ryan Werner

FEA on weldments -- changing structural members

Jim Andrews

I've been using COSMOS/M since the early 1990s, but recently joined the 21st century and started using SolidWorks + Simulation.  I am not very proficient at either.  I would appreciate it if someone could walk me through a roadblock I've encountered.

I am analyzing a welded structure with beam elements.  Ultimately, I want to optimize the structure for cost, but for now, just assume that there is one particular structural member which I would like to change based on the FEA results.  For instance, let's say I have a 4 x 4 x 0.25 square tube that is a bit highly stressed, so I'd like to change it to 4 x 4 x 0.375 and rerun the analysis.

Is there an easy way to make this change without having to redefine all my loads and boundary conditions?  Thanks in advance for any help . . .

ja

• Re: FEA on weldments -- changing structural members
          Anthony Botting

Hi Jim:

Yes. Use Weldments. You get this functionality for free PLUS section libraries. Just draw a stick figure (2D or 3D Sketch) of neutral axes like you did in COSMOS/M. Use the Weldment toolbar to create the beam. It will prompt you to pick from a library of cross sections, then click the neutral axis lines and voila - it builds you a beautiful, mitered weldment frame automatically trimming corners, too. Very nice. Weldments are specifically designed for parameter change (i.e., swap the section for another one), and BEAM elements were specifically designed to use Weldments (although you can now use other solid bodies). This is wonderful software. COSMOS/M user since 1990. - Tony

Jim Andrews

Thanks Tony.  Here's the deal:  I AM using a weldment.  I just don't understand how to effect the change in a structural member.  It seems like once I make the change in my Feature Tree, the model won't run again.  Am I doing something wrong?  (Obviously!)

Jim Andrews