15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2010 3:50 PM by Anna Wood

Aircraft Wing Designing ...

Walter Perko

Hi,

I'm still a little new to SolidWorks but I'm wondering why there isn't a NACA tool for general aircraft wing designing ...

My approach is to sketch a wing shape from a top view of the wing ... then I'd expect there would be a NACA/Airfoil tool that would have me identify the wing root, the wing tip, the front and trailing edges of the wing ... then ask for me to choose from a NACA list of wing designs to create a nice smooth wing surface that I can later cut into panels or assemble to a full aircraft view ...

Although this maybe not ideal for general or commercial airfcraft I'm sure hobbyist would love to explore new R/C and model aircraft designs for possible consumer products and their own home hobbies. 

Are there any other thoughts on this? 

-----------------------------------------------------------------

C U L8r,  wperko ... http://www.brainless.org/RoboToons/T-Shirts&Totes.html

• Re: Aircraft Wing Designing ...
          Jerry Steiger

Walt,

SolidWorks is a general mechanical design tool. They've never made any attempt at all that I can see to aim the product at the aircraft market. A few people use SW for aircraft design and they can be found complaining here about how it is a bit of a stretch to get it to work for them.

They have some tools for making curves from imported data. You could probably use that to generate wing profiles. Whether they will be accurate enough is another question.

Given a profile, a simple rectangular wing should be a piece of cake, just an extrusion. A simply tapered wing might not be too hard. A sweep might not work very well. Lofting might be easier. Putting in some twist will make it a bit harder. Doing a nice elliptical wing, like a Spitfire, should prove quite interesting. Perhaps not all that much harder until you get to the very end of the wingtip.

Jerry Steiger

Walter Perko

Hi,