8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2011 4:29 PM by Brandon Spires

B7 Hi-SPEED HYBRID

Filip Tejszerski

This part-time project started over two years ago, just as an exercise to practice 3D modelling. The concept to be modelled was a design for a car inspired by aviation themes. The full story can be found here : http://www.local-motors.com/designProcessDet.php?c=4525

To cut to the chase - after modelling the design in Solidworks, I began experimenting with FlowXpress. Finding it to be extremely interesting I just had to get my hands on the full version of Flow Simulation and see how the B7 performed at its intended, albeit virtual, speed of 500km/h.

Thanks to Solidtec Australia I was able to play around with the software and generated some fascinating results.

See images below. There is also a video of the animated flow simulation results here  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kIilEHSubmY

I am no aeronautical engineer, but can see how the design of the car body affects drag, turbulence and lift forces thanks to the visual nature of Flow Simulation results. What I would like to know though, is how to generate a coefficient of drag figure for the B7. Is it possible to do with this software?

• Re: B7 Hi-SPEED HYBRID
          Sebastian Johansen

Hi!

Unfortunately I don't have an answer to your questions... But I'm curious on what software you used to render the images?

Also, do you have any thoughts on what type of engine to use, or is this just a design study of the bodywork?

Kind Regards

Sebastian

Bill McEachern

You can do that with an equation goal - make a goal for the drag force and just rearrange the equation Fd=Cd*Aprojected*rho*v^2 for Cd and put all that into an equation goal.....

Joe Galliera

The 1/2 was missed to account for when the velocity potential is integrated in Bernoulli's equation.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drag_equation

F_d = (1/2)*rho*V^2*C_d*A

where,

F_d is the force on the body in the direction of drag