12 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2010 9:05 AM by Joe Galliera

Algor - Worth The Switch?

Ben Floan

At my company we are heavy into Autodesk products, Inventor / AutoCad, so naturally our reseller is pushing hard for us to switch to Algor.  Anyone had experience with Algor and some insight in how it might compare to SW Sim?  We use SW Sim. Premium w/ FlowWorks......

• Re: Algor - Worth The Switch?
          Bill McEachern

Well, I would suggest you get an eval of the products from Algor and run your stuff on the products proposed. I am heavily involved with a SolidWorks reseller so take all this with a grain of salt - most of my knowledge comes from replacing Algor.  Not too current with things Algor but previously and maybe still you have a three program interface, the pre processor, the solver manager and the post processor - the embedded stuff inside Inventor maybe better - I have no direct knowledge on those products. Their advertising on complex problems is a lot better than their delivery in my experience with customers. Their flow product is completely pathetic compared to Flow simulation. I replaced their flow product at one customer and they told me that it would take days to get an analysis to run and changing things and re-running was very labor intensive. In the demo I did what would take them many man weeks - yes it is that dramatic even on simple problems. Part of the issue is that you u have to manually manged the impulsive start at BC's - you need to ramp them up at a rate that maintains stability which varies with the problem - apparently. That is a couple of years ago.

Try them out and let us know what your thoughts are.

Ben Floan