16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2010 2:07 PM by Mark Schwandt

Adding text

What's the best way to add text to the attached image other then cutting it out of the .sldprt?

I'm very new at this and doing ok until I tried to get the text to show. I inserted it as a block in the assembly file but that doesn't show up in PV360.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm running 2010 version of everything.

Thanks.

Mark S

• Re: Adding text
          Rob Rodriguez

Create and apply a decal in SW and it will transfer to PV360.  I'd probably just cut the text into the model unless it's some wird font or something.

John Burrill

What format is your text in right now (AutoCAD .dwg, Microsoft Word, JPG, PNG)?

autocad.dwg

John Burrill

OK, that actually makes it easier.

You can make a high-res decal that will fit perfectly over your features.

To make a face-plate for a tester I opened the silkscreen drawing in AutoCAD

-used the add-a-plotter wizard to create a PNG Raster driver

-created a custom paper size where the dimensions were the size of the face plate * the  resolution of the image.(DPI)

-opened the AutoCAD drawing and drew the frame around the text.

-printed the drawing to the raster driver using the custom paper size  I set the text color to 255 (otherwise it prints black) and changed the default back-ground colour to black..

Then in Solidworks I was able to insert the image as a decal onto the face and not have to tweak any of the transforms (position, scale, rotation)

To remove the black backtground I specified the image-based mask file option (works better than choosing the transparent color because there's always some feathering) and picked the same image.