8 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2015 4:47 PM by Charley Saint

Reference dialog discrepancy

Jim Sculley

I have on several occasions noticed differences between the 'Contains' tab and what appears when I click the 'Edit User Defined References' button.  Typically, the latter is empty, like this:

ref-discrepancy.png

Is this a bug or am I missing some subtle feature?

Jim S.

• Re: Reference dialog discrepancy

Jim,

I am just starting out as well, but what you are seeing are BOM references in one case and user defined references in the other.  The user defined references are created by using the "copy" and "paste as reference" functionality, which for example would be used for attaching a document to an assembly or part where you don't want it on a bill of material.

Peregrin

Jim Sculley

Peregrin Maksimovich wrote:

Jim,

I am just starting out as well, but what you are seeing are BOM references in one case and user defined references in the other.  The user defined references are created by using the "copy" and "paste as reference" functionality, which for example would be used for attaching a document to an assembly or part where you don't want it on a bill of material.

Peregrin

Everything in the view on the left was created using 'Paste As Reference'.  In a seemingly random fashion, the user-defined references are 'cleared' on check-in.  They will still show up in the 'Contains' tab.  They will still show up as referenced during check-in and check-out.  However, the instant you paste a new file as a reference, the old references are deleted and only the new one exists.

Jim S.

Jim Sculley