30 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2010 6:53 PM by Tom Helsley

Measure Tool, please tell me it's gonna get better?

Dave Lelonek

Hello All,

I really love SolidWorks, the more I use it the more I like it. In so many ways I feel the software is very well throughout and very intuitive.

OK, here comes one thing I don't like - the measure tool.

I really thought I just did not understand how this worked until I just got of the phone with my VAR and they confirmed the issues I am having.

I have been designing for 20 years and in every package I have used, I always have had the ability to measure anything. In SW, I can't get a distance from and intersection to another

Please someone tell me I am crazy and this tool is useful?

Also, what if I simply want to get a distance between two cursor positions? I really feel this tool needs a tremendous amount of work.

I would appreciate any schooling on this tool from the users that know it much better.

Thanks.

• Re: Measure Tool, please tell me it's gonna get better?
          Matt Wallace

David Lelonek from AMT, man, I know you from somewhere....

I am not getting your issue.  You can select points, edges, faces, axes, ..., most anything I can think of, and the measure tool gives lots of information, and can do it in dual units.  What is it not doing for you?  At most, you might have to create some reference geometry or a sketch to have something to select.

Tom Helsley
            Yeah, the measure tool is pretty limited.  There have been many times when I wanted to measure between two parts and not necessarily the min, max or center distances.  Most of those cases, I had to create som sketches, add some points, etc.. It sucks!  A few other times, the geometry I was measuring was so irregular that SolidWorks picked the wrong min distance place to measure.  Ugh!!!
              Paul Mihala

'Also, what if I simply want to get a distance between two cursor positions?'