8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2010 2:21 PM by Mauricio Martinez-Saez

Flatten a Part using sheet Metal

Piyush Sharma
      Is there any way one can flatten the attached part using sheet metal. I am pretty new to sheet metal and would really appreciate your suggestion.
        • Re: Flatten a Part using sheet Metal
          SW will not convert this kind of geometry into a sheet metal part. The problem is that the bends are not flat, they are curved around the centerline of the part while they bend. SW cannot unfold this kind of sheet metal forming. SW will only handle flat formed flanges, like what you would be able to do on a press brake with standard tooling.
              Mauricio Martinez-Saez

37503 wrote:

SW will not convert this kind of geometry into a sheet metal part. The problem is that the bends are not flat, they are curved around the centerline of the part while they bend. SW cannot unfold this kind of sheet metal forming. SW will only handle flat formed flanges, like what you would be able to do on a press brake with standard tooling.

SW Sheet Metal can produce (and unbend) flanges formed with a curved folding line.  See attached picture and part file (which unfold to a perfect flat pattern).

Picture-01.JPG

While I was surprised to see this, (I forgot that I did get SW to do this before a long time ago) SW will not handle the second bend because the initial face is non-planar. Apparently you can go from flat to curved but not curved to curved. The Convert to Sheet Metal feature does not appear to recognize the flat to curved bend for the same reason ... it gave me the attached error dialog.
                      Mauricio Martinez-Saez

Shawn,

The part I posted is not "converted" is is a 100% done with Sheet Metal features and fold / unfold correctly and without any errors.  I do not understant from where are getting the error.