8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2009 1:44 PM by Lenny Bucholz

Sketching a simple part, trying to break out of AutoCAD mindset

I drew a very simple part that is to be storage shelving for my garage. I am new to SW, converting from AutoCAD. I sketched the wood to dimension, extruded, and constructed the main "body" of the part. I would like to add drill holes where needed (which I started to do) I was doing a sketch for each set of holes. I'm assuming there is a quicker, or more effecient way to do this. Should I have sketched the holes at the same time I sketched the wood parts? I am still getting used to the different mind set of SW compared to AutoCAD. Thank you in advance for any assistance.
        • Re: Sketching a simple part, trying to break out of AutoCAD mindset
          Deepak Gupta
          Use Hole Wizard. As a best practice, select the face/plane or surface before clicking on the Hole Wizard command.
            Jeremy Mortl

Hi Jared,

Like you, I earned my CAD wings using AutoCAD and was faced with the challenge of converting to SW. Yes, there are easier ways to build the shelves you have here. Like using patterns instead of the Body-Move/Copy feature. This feature can be a little unstable at times and patterns are much easier to modify in the future. But as I'm sure you will find out, there are more than one ways to skin a cat. Also, the mirror feature can be quite valuable. Keeping your origin at the center of your part facilitates using this feature.

Jim

Phil Marra

If you are talking about fasteners, you should look at the "hole wizzard". To answer your question, no you shouldnt sketch the holes in your base sketches. If I were modeling up that shelf I would do it as an assembly and each member would be a separate part not as you have done with multibodies.

That is not to say you are approaching it wrong just differently than the way I think.