5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2009 4:03 PM by 1-FG9OMX

Top-down assembly and in-place mates

I'm somewhat new to top-down; pardon my question if indeed it's a simple solution "I should already know..."

I've created three round parts - all concentric to one vertical centerline. I want these parts to rotate about this centerline axis - however, due to my building the model the way I have, the parts are fixed into their respective positions.  In other words, I cannot get the parts to rotate freely about this common centerline axis nor will they "pull apart" up and down (along) this centerline.

Is there a means by which I can break the in-place mates - and re-establish new mate relations so as to allow these parts to rotate independantly of one another?

Thanks in advance for any advice/corrective action anyone can render!

• Re: Top-down assembly and in-place mates
          Deepak Gupta

You can break the in place mate but that can disturb the references. The way out can to delete the in place mate and reset the references so that parts doesn't have any relations with each other and no references from assembly. And finally re mate as required.

Other way will to create them separately and mate in assembly.

Hello Deepak, thanks for your suggestions.

Prior to posting my question, I indeed tried to break the in-place mates - so as to reassign the desired mates to these parts. However, SW would have none of it.  It was as if SW would not let go of the in-place (original) mate assignments.  I'd delete the mate - with the intent of leaving it blank (no mate) - and by some default action, SW put the original (in-place) mate back into the part...

I think my fall-back is to make 3 re-named copies of this assembly, and delete respective parts out of each file so as to create three individual parts, and bring them into a new assembly. This was an alternative suggestion form you too I believe, right?

Thanks,

MP

Rudy Lyon