11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2009 1:05 AM by Chris Dolejska

Further Advice on surfacing torch body...

Grahame Line

Hello - Ladies & Gentlemen,

I am hoping somebody can advise me on improving a 3D surface model which I have attempted for the first time.

Have only started to use surfacing recently - started this model a month ago and have managed to get to this point (have been doing other things in the mean time!) - but seem to have stumbled into a brick wall and get many little errors which are preventing me from finalising model.

I believe there is probably a quicker and easier way of doing this - but I am only starting out.

Was lucky enough to get some feedback of Matt Lombard on my previous discussion - which has got me to this point - but I am struggling to get my head around the fine tuning.

Also having real problems with issues such as seeing through the material when looking from the inside,out - but not from the outside in (hope that makes sense?).  I am also trying to mount a part into the handle of the model (front 23.5mm Diameter) but with a simple extrude model edge is shooting into angled points ? ?  it looks like the material thickness is non existant after I have previously shelled the model?  Any help would be greatfully recieved....

Have also attached drawing which shows weird section views etc..

As before if anyone can give me pointers on how to improve or simplify the model ? then this would help me out no end.

I am using Solidworks Professional 2009 SP4.0 - have attached model & drawing.

Regards

Grahame

• Re: Further Advice on surfacing torch body...
          Robert Stupplebeen

I don't have time to fix this model, however, I believe that your issues can be traced back to this surface (solid?).  When you perform "Shell1" a 0 thickness surface is created (highlighted in image).  I would work to fix this before continuing.  By the way very nice first surface model.  I hope this helps.

Rob Stupplebeen

Grahame Line