AnsweredAssumed Answered

Why would SolidWorks allow the Overwrite of Read-Only files?

Question asked by Adrian Velazquez on Sep 21, 2009
Latest reply on Sep 22, 2009 by Adrian Velazquez

A co-worker and myself stumbled across this really scary possibility while troubleshooting WPDM:

 

We use WPDM so we work with Read-Only files quite often. When a RO files is open if you click on Save it immediately brings up the Save As dialog if you don't rename and click Save a warning pops-up telling you that the file is Read-Only and ask you if you want to Overwrite it, usually by this time one realizes that that would be a "not so smart" thing to do, but by accident we clicked Yes and it happened SolidWorks actually just overwrote a Read-Only document. We tried to duplicate this behavior on every other software on my computer and even the ones that give a similar "warning message" for overwriting, if you clicked Yes a second warning message appears telling you "you dummy that's impossible"!

 

 

Why in the world would SW allow this? this defeats the purpose of using WPDM, WTF???

 

save as.JPG

untitled.JPG

Outcomes