9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2009 2:24 PM by Brian Dalton

Activating a Workflow...

Brian Dalton

I'm new to EPDM and just cutting my teeth on the 2010 beta...  here's a real dumb question for ya:

How to I 'activate' a workflow.. that is, once I've written it, how do I get EPDM to start using it?

I have been learning the ropes using the Default Workflow that comes with EPDM out of the box, but now I need to try to write my own workflows.  I created a simple one (should work, I think) but when I select 'Change State' in the menu, only the Default Workflow's Transitions are available.  I had assumed it would also show the transitions for my new workflow as well, but no dice.

I decided to try disabling the Default Workflow (DW) so the only possible choice for EPDM would be to offer me the newly written one, so I set a condition in the DW that it would only run on BOMs, of which I have none.  That should have made it impossible for the DW to be used for a Change State of a SLDPRT file, shouldn't it?  Still all I saw were the DW's transitions and no sign of the one I had written.  I considered deleting the DW altogether, but it's the only example I have of a functional workflow, so naturally I don't want to trash it.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Brian-

• Re: Activating a Workflow...
          Joy Garon

Hi Brian -

You need to setup conditions that define which workflow specified documents will enter.

If you right-click on the workflow and select properties you will see where to enter conditions.

Many people set up categories for these conditions and then use the catagory to control what workflow a document will enter.

Refer to the administration guide (found on the CD in the Support\Guides\GB folder) for specifics on setting up conditions.

Also, I would strongly suggest that you take the basic admin class offered by your VAR. It will greatly reduce your learning curve.

Best Regards,

Joy

Brian Dalton

Thanks for the response, Joy.