11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2009 8:46 AM by mark vasquez

Footwear industry Modelers

mark vasquez

I was wondering if there are any other CAD modelers using solidworks in the footwear industry that might want to share some tips and tricks. I have been doing this for four years now (formaerly I was doing mechanical design) and have only begun using SWX about a year ago. Switching from Wildfire to soldiworks proved to be the right decision.

I am actually the only cad person here at my company and have no other CAD geeks here to bounce ideas off of. For that matter to get help from anyone I always end up e-mailing or posting....

So if there is anyone out there with experience and knowledge they would liek to share I would be more than greatful.

• Re: Footwear industry Modelers
          Eric Irwin

Well Mark, I am in the footwear industry, but we make components that get installed on shoes.  Our surfacing is generally relatively simple, but the size of our parts makes the fine detail surfacing somewhat complicated.  Not sure I can help with anything you are doing, but willing to try from time to time.

http://www.boatechnology.com

Eric

Adrian Velazquez

Mark,

At SolidWorks WORLD 2009 in Orlando the guys from New Balance showed how they use SolidWorks in their design process, it was some pretty impresive modeling. I don't know if they hang-around on the forums do.

mark vasquez

Basically I am trying to find the people I can turn to in times when I have complicated outsoles. Outsoles is mostly what I do sometimes they are simple other times they are a bit complicated and if I have to spend more than 2-3 days working on something they would rather send it to china to have EVA mockups made rather than wait for me to create the model and print it in my ZCorp 310 printer.

Eric, I looked at your website, that's real cool stuff you do. You guys wouldn't happen to have any openings would ya? Just kidding, sort of, I happpen to love Colorado....