13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2009 2:54 AM by 1-HH5PKI

Closed Spline resizing

Ok, so I work in the eyewear industry as a designer for eyeglasses and sunglasses. I'm having trouble resizing a closed spline (in SWx) in the same manner that I do it in Adobe Illustrator.

So, our 2d workflow is based in Adobe Illustrator and I've grown accustomed to drawing eyeshapes (the shape of the lens) in AI. The eyeshape is always a spline (no lines, no arcs) drawn with the pen tool. Once we draw a shape we like, we size that spline to the proper size.

In the eyewear industry the side-to-side width of the eyeshape is called the 'A' dimension (or just the 'A') and the top-to-bottom height is referred to as the 'B' dimension (or just the 'B'). The A absolutely must be an integer. The B must be sized to the nearest 1/10th of a millimeter (i.e. it can be 35.7 or 35.8 but not 35.77) Pretty straight forward.

Ok, so once I have that shape, I can very easily go to the transform palette (and activate the chain link to proportionally scale the shape) and enter the A dimension for the lens. I'll check what that corresponding B dimension results and then turn off the chain link and type in a value that is rounded to nearest 1/10th of a millimeter. Boom, I'm finished. (this is what's illustrated in the attached AI and PDF)

How on earth do I replicate this in SWx? I was hoping that blocks could get me there, and while they get me closer than any other strategy (I only have two up to this point), it's still not quite right.

To illustrate verbally ... let's just say that I'm starting out in SWx from scratch and I will create the eyeshape there.

(1) I open a new sketch
      (2) I draw a construction rectangle centered about the origin (using a diagonal centerline) that is roughly the dimensions I want the eyeshape to be, say 55mm (A dim) by 40mm (B dim)