19 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2009 3:29 PM by Stephen Reed

Pro E to SolidWorks

Stephen Reed
      We have a need to import Pro E parts & assemblies into SolidWorks 2009 sp.3.0. What is best format to use from Pro E? I know SolidWorks is supposed to open Pro E files but am wondering how well that works especially on assemblies. What about Pro E drawings, do they import?

I have no Pro E experience but I'm sure it exports to step files; does it export to parasolids? Recommendations?

Thanks much!

• Pro E to SolidWorks
          Lenny Bucholz
          step is best out of ProE, parasolids is a add on. and file open ProE is a crap shoot!

ProE thru in alot of crap to give SW fits!
          • Pro E to SolidWorks
            John Lhuillier
            Pro E drawings WILL NOT import into SW. Step is by far better than the native Pro E files even though you can do some feature recognition with the native files.
            • Pro E to SolidWorks
              Stephen Reed
              Thanks Lenny & John. That's just the info I was looking for.

Much Appreciated,
              Steve
                • Pro E to SolidWorks
                  Christopher Thompson
                  When importing Pro-E models into SW that have complex geometry, the Pro-E parts may not always import as a solid. As a result, the import feature frequently needs to be healed inside SW.

I typically have better success saving the Pro-E file as a STEP file, then import into SolidWorks. I suppose saving the Pro-E file as a Parasolid could work depending on the quality of the Parasolid file that Pro-E can export.

If you have FeatureWorks, you can try to recognize features from the Pro-E imported file if the Pro-E part has simple geometry.

Regards,

Chris Thompson

SolidWorks Premium 2007 & 2009
                  Pro-E WF 2.0 & 3.0
                    • Pro E to SolidWorks
                      Phil Marra
                      Chris,