AnsweredAssumed Answered

Accidental delete loses any work performed

Question asked by Terry Raymond on Mar 4, 2020
Latest reply on Mar 4, 2020 by David Matula

So I worked all day on an excel file in PDM, that was checked out to me.  I had some other files in the folder I didn't need so I deleted them.  I accidentally also deleted the file I had worked on all day.  "Hey no problem, PDM has Recover" I thought.  Wrong... it had deleted my local copy completely.  Replaced it with prior checked in version.

Yeah I clicked the wrong button, but if this had happened OUTSIDE PDM, the file still would have been in the recycle bin, no data loss.

 

I tried using disk drill to get it back, no luck as the recover apparently overwrote the remnants!

 

<manpunchescomputer.gif>

 

Anyone else have this happen?  Any way to stop PDM from losing data in this way?

Outcomes