7 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2009 2:53 PM by Anna Wood

Newby question @ sketches on different planes

Timothy Lane
      I am new to SW and this may be a simple question. I started a new drawing as a part and I have several planes in this part with sketches on each plane. I am creating a gridline system with worklines. I am trying to extend/trim horizontal construction lines to a plane that is at a slope so the lines on my horizontal plane and my sloped planes meet at the same point. Any guidance on how to accomplish this would be great.
        • Newby question @ sketches on different planes
          Anna Wood
          Constrain the end points of your line coincident to your planes. Just a guess.

Can you zip the file up and post the zip file here. Hard to know what you are trying to accomplish without seeing the file.

Why are you creating a gridline system in the first place?

Cheers,
            Timothy Lane
            The reason for this file is to perform a check in an assembly to verify all of the parts, which will be inserted on these work lines, fully mate. There might be a better way to do this but with this large structure it seamed the best approach. But since this is our first attempt at using SW, we could be way off base.
                Anna Wood
                Top down design will work no question.

I suspect, from what I see for your grid structure, there is a better way. But very difficult to propose ideas not knowing what you are making.

Why do you need the same sketches over and over. Can you not create one sketch for each of the major sections/elevations. Then constrain and pattern your parts to the same sketch location with an offset to its z location.

Looks like you can take advantage of patterns with what you are creating for the main structure.

What are you creating?