AnsweredAssumed Answered

PDM says a checked out file is not checked out and changes will be "thrown away".

Question asked by Erica Stringer on Oct 11, 2019
Latest reply on Oct 14, 2019 by Erica Stringer

I have a user who was working on a drawing. He checked it out, made changes, and tried to check it back in. He got the following error message. When you look in file explorer it clearly shows he has it checked out and solidworks does not have it flagged as read only. He opened file explorer, double clicked on the drawing, checked it out in the pop up box, made changes, tried to check in within solidworks on the side bar, and got the error message. We saved it, closed it, closed soldiworks, checked it in in file explorer, checked it back out in file explorer, opened it, made changes, checked it back in within solidworks, checked it out within solidworks, and now everything seems to be working fine.

 

He lost about a days worth of work yesterday. He said he checked in everything before lunch and when he came back from lunch he checked everything back out and his changes were gone. He thinks he may have gotten this message yesterday and did not read it carefully and hit yes.

 

We are using PDM Professional 2018.

 

Has anyone else had this issue? Does anyone know why we got this error? Unfortunately I believe the work we lost is gone but if we know why this happened we can avoid it in the future. 

 

Outcomes