Aaron Zheng

Editing sketch entities in already finished part

Discussion created by Aaron Zheng on Aug 9, 2019
Latest reply on Aug 12, 2019 by John Stoltzfus

Hey everyone, this is my first discussion.

Anyway, I am trying to make a humanoid robot. I've finished all of my necessary designs, and have started the 3D-printing process. After experimentation I discovered some more errors whilst putting the parts together. Some of these errors were my mistake, as I am not that experienced, and some are due to slight inaccuracies. These include the length of a part being 1-2mm long or short, a hole that needs a slightly bigger diameter etcetera.

However, it seems that designing a part isn't that difficult, but EDITING is. Often times what I'd have is I change a dimension in a part, replace a spline, remove some unhelpful sketch relations, and many sketch errors arise, such as a failed body. This is especially so with fillets. Apparently, if you change/replace sketch entities in the first sketch, the initial sketch of the part, you risk messing up the ids of edges and vertexes, thus causing a string of unwanted errors. 

Here is an example:

A part which has no errors and originally looks like this, after one slight change in the first Boss-Extrude:

Now looks like this, with many errors and warnings.

This is incredibly annoying. This occurs when I replace a sketch entity in my initial boss-extrude sketch. Many times these errors force me to have to fix, or delete, if I am just too annoyed, working mates for no reason, which usually causes more problems in other assemblies that use the same part.