13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2009 2:26 PM by Jeremy Feist

Bolt Threads

Ian Hayles
      Hello:
      I am new to Solid Works and I have being enjoying the software alot. I have an issue. I am not able to find this particular bolt in the library and I would like to create one. The problem that I am having is creating the "thread" feature that a bolt have. I have looked at a few tutorials using the Helix/spiral feature but , but they were not clear. on the explanation.
      Does anyone know of a tutorial that show this process step-by-step.
      thanks in advance
        • Bolt Threads
          Dale Dunn
          Most people just use the cosmetic thread tool, just as you would for a tapped hole. If you need to model the helical threads, you should be able to find examples on 3D Content Central.
          • Bolt Threads
            Dan Bertschi
            Since I Hay is new to SW, I'll jump in to add that unless you REALLY need to have the threads on a model... please, don't model them. Helix cut features, or any helix feture for that matter, is very performance intensive (uses a lot of computer resources). I would only put a true helix in if you need it for mfg, or high-end graphics creation.

Another option is to do a revolve cut of a thread profile. This appears as threads in the model, but uses MUCH less computer resources.

Just because you CAN model it... doesn't mean you should.

Just tryin' to help the new guy...good luck, whatever you choose.
              • Bolt Threads

Neil Flournoy wrote: