20 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2019 3:54 PM by Neville Williams

part name on the part

Ramazan Akbulut

hi everyone.

i have an issue with laser cutting company. we send so many parts drawing to them and they deliver everything in same box.

then we get too much work just for to seperate the parts.

i want to have an option that i can write drawing number or part name on the part in drawing file.

so when i send the drawing to the laser cutting, laser with cut the part and write that name on the part.

is that possible? i am new in solidworks and this business.

forgive me if it's been asked before or if its a pointless question.

best regards

• Re: part name on the part
          Glenn Schroeder

It's not something I do often, but you can extrude cut or extrude/boss sketch text, and the text can be linked to the Part name.

Daniel Mapp

At the one place I worked we used to part number-Revision stamp all our parts.

All SW files were saved as the part number without revision, we then has custom properties setup:

These properties were linked to in an extruded cut feature:

$PRP:"Partno"-$PRP:"Revision"

We would then call out the part number stamp on drawings, we had a block we used to drag in to automate this, something like.

Mark $PRPSHEET:"PartNo"-$PRP:"Revision" 4mm high in this location.

Not the most streamlined of processes but at least with epdm setting the revision it was all relatively automatic in terms up upissues etc.

Dan Pihlaja

Yes, I do this kind of thing all the time.

On the part:

Engraving text is linked to custom property.

Then, on the print:

Kevin Chandler

Ramazan Akbulut wrote:

hi everyone.

i have an issue with laser cutting company. we send so many parts drawing to them and they deliver everything in same box.

i want to have an option that i can write drawing number or part name on the part in drawing file.

so when i send the drawing to the laser cutting, laser with cut the part and write that name on the part.

best regards