AnsweredAssumed Answered

Static Analysis Realistic Setup and Symmetry Problems

Question asked by Ulrich Liebminger on Jan 24, 2019
Latest reply on Jan 25, 2019 by Bill McEachern

Hello Community,

I am currently simulating a problem representing a telescopic tubing assembly. How it looks like can be seen below. I would like to ask for your opinion if the setup is realistic, since I am quite new in simulation. Thank you, I really appreciate every bit of advice!

Deployed.PNGStowed.PNGSliding_Pads.PNG

The pictures show the tubes in deployed, respectivley stowed position. The tubes are not sliding metal onto metal but there is a small gap between them (image on right hand side). For gliding, there are little plastic pads applied on each side, where the tubes are touching each other (red pads inside the lower tube, and green pads outside the upper tube). The actuation of the upper tube is performed by an internal drive, which means that the tube only absorbs moments and transverse forces, but no axial forces (they are absorbed by the actuation system)

Now to my simulation setup: I fixed the lowest face, where the tube is later mounted. Because of the fact that the upper tube can not move when the actuator is locked, I defined a global conctact (bonded). Is that representing reality in a good/sufficient way? I could also model the sliding pads and define a no penetration condition with friction, but that would result in a massiv increase of run time...