31 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2019 11:11 AM by Frederick Law

Best time to upgrade to SW 2019?

Mike Thompson

Hey guys,

I have a basic question, with regard to deciding when to upgrade. I have a lot of Inventor experience, but only about 1.5 years on SW. Inventor was known for adding a lot of content in one release, and implementing a lot of bug fixes in the next. Is SW similar, in your opinion? If so, which cycle would you consider 2018 vs. 2019?

I am in a new position with a new company and have been tasked to help decide.

I also have had a wise few folks recommend to always wait for the first service pack to avoid being a test rabbit. Any ideas how far out that will be for 2019, and do many of you agree with that logic?

Thanks!

• Re: Best time to upgrade to SW 2019?
          John Layne

There are a few threads covering this over the years.

Latest ones on 2019

Service Pack Schedule

SW2019 SP0 extremely slow / lagging

Dennis Dohogne

Recently, either this week or last week, SP1.0 for SWX2019 was released.  SWX2018 is on its last SP, 5.0.  I'm still using SWX2018SP5.0.  I did have some problems with SWX2019SP0.0 and have not used SP1.0 enough to know if those problems have been fixed.  However, there have been some recent posts on this forum about the fixes people did see with SP1.0.  Search the forum for such a post within the last week to learn more.

Mike Thompson

So if we go down this path (I'm currently the only user here) and we decide to drop back to 2018, will I be able to open any of the models I had opened and updated to 2019?

I suspect no, but need to confirm.

Steve Lovell

Hi Mike,

SW 2018 has been a great release for me, I've tried SW 2019 and found it very poor.

Go with 2018 sp5 for now if you need to get real work done.

However 2019 edrawings has massive performance gains.

Cheers,

Steve.

Alin Vargatu

Many of our customers are scheduling the upgrade to SW 2019 once SP2.0 is out.

Frederick Law