18 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2019 8:51 AM by Frederick Law

How was your first day as a new employee?

Alexis Rouvas

I have graduated the university recently and I have a BSc in Mechanical Engineering. I have very low proficiency in CAD programs. I don't have any experience as a mechanical engineer. Therefore, I feel an excitement when I will be applying for a job. Please, can you tell me about your experience and feelings when you was a freshmen in mech. engineering? How was your first day as a new employee?

• Re: How was your first day as a new employee?
          Frederick Law

It was good.

They told me I replaced one that lasted half a day on the job.  Took off at lunch and never came back.

I lasted 3 years.

Now I'm 'first day as a new employee' probably 10 times

Rubén Rodolfo Balderrama

My first interview was with Manager of engineering department "Eng. Oscar Gentile" he told what he need to I did it, so they gave me, trainning on each different areas.

First was a copy drawing, little modification on an air conditioning central.

Then after 1 year a projet for conduit on sheet metal.

With this man I learnt bunch of things very useful.

He was my mentor to enter on Visteon Arg. 3 year later.

My first day, I was little nervous

Pay attention on each challenge, think by 5 minutes before you start any projet and walk and walk

Glenn Schroeder

Congratulations on your graduation.

Joel Gilbert

Congratulations on graduating and best of luck in the world of engineering!

I've had many different jobs, in many different fields, but first days are always different. Some places you are working on live projects by the end of the first day, most places you'll be doing HR stuff, meeting people, getting setup on the computer system/network, etc.