27 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2018 10:05 AM by Bill McEachern

Static simulation fails while real product succeeds

B. Bijl

Dear Forum,

I'm running into a problem using solidworks simulation. To be very clear I'm not a professional using static simulations. I know the basics.

A coupler plate for some machinery we have here needs to lift 2.5 Tons. To get a proper certificate it needs to lift up to 200%, meaning 5 Tons.

It did this without any problems or deformations in the product. But when I try to simulate this in Sw, it shows that it should fail. The biggest stress areas Sw shows are logical though.

Attached is the product.

Below some screenshots:

Coupler static.jpgCoupler static stress.jpg

The hoist ears are welded on the bend plate. Can this be the issue?

I would be very happy to get some advice from you guys on my problem.

Cheers,

Boris

• Re: Static simulation fails while real product succeeds
          Dave Bear

Hi JM Van Oossanen,

Okay, just a couple of things to point out as a Rigger which I have past experience in.

Why would you have this 'cut-away' present as it will only present itself as a weak point in the overall lifting structure?Nip.png

Is the hole between the lifting fixture necessary as it appears that the corners are what may be showing the weakness?

Corners.png

But most importantly, what happens if you try your design with your lifting fixture running parallel to your lifting lugs?

Brace.png

Or, better still.....................

Brace2.png

Just as a side note, although it does happen, a certified lifting device will very rarely have any holes, cut-outs, perforations or such unless they are for a specific purpose.

Just some ideas above for you to ponder.............

Dave.

Frederick Law

Stress concentration.

Safety factor.

The area getting max stress are corners.  The sharp 90 deg on the lifting lug is welded to the bend part which will be a fillet.

The fillet will never see stress that high.