4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2018 10:17 AM by Ajay Kumar R.

Need to slow end-mill down

William Finch

Hello,

I am an instructor trying to integrate Solidworks CAM into my student-shop "workflow".  We have several inexpensive, benchtop, CNC, imported mills.  They're beefier than a Shapeoko, by far, but still pretty flexible.  The axes are driven by steppers with a TinyG controller.  So, the feed rate is limited not by the tool, I think, but by the machine.  If we run above 10 - 20 ipm, depending on material and cut, we start losing steps and the everything goes to *&#&$^@#* fairly quickly.

So, I'm trying to limit the feed parameters of an HSS end mill I entered into the Technology DB. I change the spindle speed to 3000 RPM and the feed per tooth to 0.0005, which should give about 6 in/min for a four-flute end mill. I found a post-processor for a Laguna router, which should match pretty well with the TinyG.  But, when I "post-process" the GCode sets the spindle at 12,000 rpm, the depth of a roughing pass is about 0.043, and the feed rates for cutting (G1, etc.) are about F31 for plunge and F124 for cut.

What I want is:  3000 RPM, about 0.025 depth for a rough cut, and a feed rate of about 10 ipm.  (I'm beginning to suspect this is a simple, newbie question...)

How do I force the post processor to use these values?

Thanks!

Yitz

• Re: Need to slow end-mill down
          Michael Buchli

Happy Monday!

Feeds and speeds can be controlled in multiple ways with SW CAM.  One quick question, in the operations you are defining the feeds and speeds correct?  you can define these in the techDB but they will be tied to a specific operation so if you are using a different operation than what you defined, it will default to what was loaded with the software.  In the TechDB you can also specify machine spindle speed which will lower the max of the machine output in case an operation is not defined.